1983 Schedule & Results

Select A Season


Wed, Sep 21 / 7 pm
at Appalachian State
Boone, N.C.
L, 0-3
12-15, 1-15, 12-15
George Mason Invitational
Sat, Sep 24 / 7 pm
at George Mason
Fairfax, Va.
W, 2-0
15-13, 15-10
Sat, Sep 24 / 7 pm
vs. Virginia
Fairfax, Va.
W, 2-0
16-14, 15-8
Sat, Sep 24 / 7 pm
vs. UMBC
Fairfax, Va.
W, 2-0
15-11, 15-4
Sat, Sep 24 / 7 pm
vs. Howard
Fairfax, Va.
W, 2-1
15-9, 11-15, 15-8
Sun, Sep 25 / 7 pm
vs. VCU
Fairfax, Va.
W, 2-0
15-8, 15-12
Sun, Sep 25 / 7 pm
vs. Delaware
Fairfax, Va.
W, 2-1
3-15, 15-8, 15-8
Sun, Sep 25 / 7 pm
vs. Mansfield
Fairfax, Va.
W, 2-1
11-15, 15-10, 15-5
Tue, Sep 27 / 7 pm
Lynchburg
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
15-1, 15-3, 15-12
Metro Invitational
Fri, Sep 30 / 7 pm
Memphis
Cassell Coliseum
L, 0-3
7-15, 9-15, 13-15
Fri, Sep 30 / 7 pm
Cincinnati
Cassell Coliseum
L, 0-3
3-15, 6-15, 7-15
Fri, Sep 30 / 7 pm
Florida State
Cassell Coliseum
L, 1-3
16-14, 4-15, 9-15, 5-15
Fri, Sep 30 / 7 pm
Louisville
Cassell Coliseum
L, 1-3
15-12, 11-15, 5-15, 6-15
Tue, Oct 4 / 7 pm
Virginia
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-1
15-7, 8-15, 15-7, 15-12
Virginia Tech Invitational
Sat, Oct 8 / 7 pm
Longwood
Cassell Coliseum
W, 2-0
15-2, 15-3
Sat, Oct 8 / 7 pm
William & Mary
Cassell Coliseum
L, 1-2
2-15, 15-12, 6-15
Sat, Oct 8 / 7 pm
Charlotte
Cassell Coliseum
W, 2-0
15-10, 15-12
Tue, Oct 11 / 7 pm
at Liberty
Lynchburg, Va.
W, 3-0
15-1, 15-11, 15-12
Wed, Oct 12 / 7 pm
vs. Eastern Mennonite
Lynchburg, Va.
W, 2-1
15-2, 14-16, 15-5
Wed, Oct 12 / 7 pm
at Lynchburg
Lynchburg, Va.
W, 2-0
15-3, 15-8
Wake Forest Invitational
Fri, Oct 14 / 7 pm
vs. USC Upstate
Winston-Salem, N.C.
W, 3-1
15-9, 9-15, 15-8, 15-12
Fri, Oct 14 / 7 pm
at Wake Forest
Winston-Salem, N.C.
W, 3-0
15-5, 15-6, 15-5
Sat, Oct 15 / 7 pm
vs. UNC Asheville
Winston-Salem, N.C.
W, 3-0
15-13, 15-12, 15-6
Tennessee Invitational
Fri, Oct 21 / 7 pm
vs. Louisville
Knoxville, Tenn.
L, 0-3
6-15, 8-15, 13-15
Fri, Oct 21 / 7 pm
vs. Rhode Island
Knoxville, Tenn.
L, 1-3
9-15, 15-10, 1-15, 2-15
Sat, Oct 22 / 7 pm
vs. Morehead State
Knoxville, Tenn.
W, 3-0
15-13, 15-10, 16-14
Sat, Oct 22 / 7 pm
vs. George Washington
Knoxville, Tenn.
W, 3-1
12-15, 15-10, 15-13, 15-10
Tue, Oct 25 / 7 pm
at East Tennessee State
Johnson City, Tenn.
W, 3-2
15-7, 12-15, 13-15, 15-12, 15-12
Metro Invitational
Fri, Oct 28 / 7 pm
vs. South Carolina
Cincinnati, Ohio
L, 0-3
5-15, 3-15, 4-15
Fri, Oct 28 / 7 pm
vs. Southern Miss
Cincinnati, Ohio
W, 3-0
15-7, 15-7, 15-7
Sat, Oct 29 / 7 pm
vs. Tulane
Cincinnati, Ohio
L, 0-3
16-18, 13-15, 3-15
Tue, Nov 1 / 7 pm
Liberty
Cassell Coliseum
W, 2-0
15-6, 15-13
Tue, Nov 1 / 7 pm
Wake Forest
Cassell Coliseum
W, 2-0
15-8, 15-8
Thu, Nov 3 / 7 pm
at Charlotte
Charlotte, N.C.
W, 2-1
15-8, 13-15, 15-5
Thu, Nov 3 / 7 pm
vs. Western Carolina
Charlotte, N.C.
L, 0-2
9-15, 8-15
Wed, Nov 9 / 7 pm
Appalachian State
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
15-8, 15-9, 15-9
Virginia State Tournament
Sat, Nov 12 / 7 pm
vs. George Mason
Williamsburg, Va.
W, 2-0
15-5, 15-10
Sat, Nov 12 / 7 pm
at William & Mary
Williamsburg, Va.
L, 0-2
11-15, 11-15
Sat, Nov 12 / 7 pm
vs. Virginia
Williamsburg, Va.
W, 2-1
15-5, 13-15, 15-8
Sat, Nov 12 / 7 pm
vs. James Madison
Williamsburg, Va.
W, 2-0
15-10, 15-5
Sat, Nov 12 / 7 pm
at William & Mary
Williamsburg, Va.
L, 2-3
15-3, 15-12, 9-15, 3-15, 6-15
Metro Tournament
Fri, Nov 18 / 7 pm
vs. South Carolina
Louisville, Ky.
L, 0-3
9-15, 13-15, 0-15
  • Overall: 28-14
  • Conference: 0-0
  • Home: 7-5
  • Away: 6-3
  • Neutral: 15-6
  • Head Coach: John Pierce

Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
All Times Eastern
All Rankings from the AP Poll