1987 Schedule & Results

Select A Season

Overall

15-18

Non-Conference

15-18

Conference

0-0

Home

9-4

Away

4-9

Neutral

2-5

Mon, Sep 7
North Carolina
Cassell Coliseum
L, 0-3
10-15, 11-15, 6-15
Sat, Sep 12
at Duke
Durham, N.C.
L, 1-3
7-15, 4-15, 15-5, 8-15
Tue, Sep 15
Liberty
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-1
15-5, 10-15, 15-7, 15-7
Converse Classic
Fri, Sep 18
vs. UAB
Knoxville, Tenn.
W, 3-1
15-9, 15-11, 6-15, 15-13
Sat, Sep 19
vs. Eastern Michigan
Knoxville, Tenn.
L, 0-3
6-15, 11-15, 14-16
Sat, Sep 19
at Tennessee
Knoxville, Tenn.
L, 0-3
2-15, 5-15, 4-15
Tue, Sep 22
Virginia
Cassell Coliseum
L, 1-3
15-13, 13-15, 9-15, 5-15
Sat, Sep 26
at Florida State
Tallahassee, Fla.
L, 0-3
5-15, 9-15, 8-15
Sun, Sep 27
at Florida A&M
Tallahassee, Fla.
W, 3-0
15-11, 15-10, 15-10
Tue, Sep 29
Appalachian State
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
15-10, 15-12, 15-7
Fri, Oct 2
at Cincinnati
Cincinnati, Ohio
L, 1-3
1-15, 14-16, 15-13, 10-15
Sat, Oct 3
at Louisville
Louisville, Ky.
L, 1-3
15-10, 9-15, 10-15, 7-15
Tue, Oct 6
at East Tennessee State
Johnson City, Tenn.
L, 2-3
13-15, 15-10, 15-12, 12-15, 11-15
Mon, Oct 12
Memphis
Cassell Coliseum
L, 0-3
10-15, 7-15, 13-15
Tue, Oct 13
James Madison
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-2
15-13, 8-15, 14-16, 15-12, 15-7
Virginia Tech Classic
Fri, Oct 16
Charles County CC
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
15-9, 15-13, 15-9
Sat, Oct 17
Elon
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
15-0, 15-9, 18-16
Sat, Oct 17
High Point
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
15-7, 15-11, 15-2
Tue, Oct 20
at Lynchburg
Lynchburg, Va.
W, 3-2
15-11, 15-4, 13-15, 4-15, 15-11
Fri, Oct 23
Southern Miss
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
15-7, 15-11, 15-3
Sat, Oct 24
at VCU
Richmond, Va.
W, 3-1
8-15, 15-10, 15-12, 16-14
Wed, Oct 28
Charlotte
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-2
9-15, 15-7, 14-16, 15-8, 15-2
Fri, Oct 30
Charleston Southern
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
15-5, 15-9, 15-10
Sat, Oct 31
South Carolina
Cassell Coliseum
L, 0-3
8-15, 7-15, 7-15
Tue, Nov 3
at James Madison
Harrisonburg, Va.
L, 0-3
8-15, 3-15, 9-15
Virginia Classic
Fri, Nov 6
vs. George Mason
Charlottesville, Va.
W, 3-1
12-15, 16-14, 18-16, 15-5
Sat, Nov 7
at Virginia
Charlottesville, Va.
W, 3-0
15-11, 16-14, 15-10
Sat, Nov 7
vs. James Madison
Charlottesville, Va.
L, 0-3
10-15, 6-15, 3-15
South Florida Tournament
Fri, Nov 13
at South Florida
Tampa, Fla.
L, 0-3
5-15, 7-15, 10-15
Fri, Nov 13
vs. Jacksonville
Tampa, Fla.
L, 0-3
9-15, 14-16, 11-15
Sat, Nov 14
vs. Temple
Tampa, Fla.
L, 0-3
4-15, 5-15, 10-15
Sat, Nov 14
vs. Jacksonville
Tampa, Fla.
L, 2-3
15-9, 15-9, 10-15, 6-15, 10-15
Metro Conference Tournament
Sun, Nov 22
at Memphis
Memphis, Tenn.
L, 0-3
8-15, 8-15, 5-15
  • Head Coach: John Pierce

Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
All Times Eastern
All Rankings from the AP Poll