1988 Schedule & Results

Select A Season


William & Mary Invitational
Fri, Sep 2 / 7 pm
vs. George Washington
Williamsburg, Va.
L, 2-3
11-15, 15-12, 15-6, 9-15, 14-16
Sat, Sep 3 / 7 pm
at William & Mary
Williamsburg, Va.
L, 0-3
8-15, 5-15, 11-15
Sat, Sep 3 / 7 pm
vs. San Diego
Williamsburg, Va.
W, 3-0
15-5, 15-12, 15-13
Mon, Sep 5 / 7 pm
at Appalachian State
Boone, N.C.
W, 3-1
15-4, 11-15, 15-5, 15-11
Sat, Sep 10 / 7 pm
at Duke
Durham, N.C.
L, 0-3
7-15, 10-15, 6-15
Tue, Sep 13 / 7 pm
Liberty
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-2
6-15, 15-5, 7-15, 15-8, 15-9
Colorado Coors Classic Invitational
Fri, Sep 16 / 7 pm
vs. Memphis
Boulder, Colo.
L, 1-3
15-4, 4-15, 14-16, 5-15
Sat, Sep 17 / 7 pm
vs. New Mexico
Boulder, Colo.
L, 0-3
6-15, 3-15, 13-15
Sat, Sep 17 / 7 pm
vs. Wyoming
Boulder, Colo.
L, 1-3
15-11, 8-15, 0-15, 9-15
Tue, Sep 20 / 7 pm
East Tennessee State
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-2
15-10, 7-15, 10-15, 15-9, 15-10
U.Va. Classic
Fri, Sep 23 / 7 pm
vs. Liberty
Charlottesville, Va.
L, 1-3
6-15, 16-14, 9-15, 10-15
Sat, Sep 24 / 7 pm
vs. James Madison
Charlottesville, Va.
L, 0-3
6-15, 6-15, 12-15
Sat, Sep 24 / 7 pm
vs. VCU
Charlottesville, Va.
W, 3-1
11-15, 16-14, 15-8, 15-0
Tue, Sep 27 / 7 pm
James Madison
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-1
15-7, 15-7, 9-15, 15-7
Sun, Oct 2 / 7 pm
Florida State
Cassell Coliseum
L, 0-3
6-15, 6-15, 7-15
Sat, Oct 8 / 7 pm
at Southern Miss
Hattiesburg, Miss.
W, 3-1
15-13, 16-14, 13-15, 15-8
Sat, Oct 8 / 7 pm
vs. New Orleans
Hattiesburg, Miss.
W, 3-1
15-3, 14-16, 15-13, 15-8
Tue, Oct 11 / 7 pm
at Liberty
Lynchburg, Va.
W, 3-0
15-8, 15-11, 15-8
Virginia Tech Classic
Fri, Oct 14 / 7 pm
Charles County CC
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-1
15-3, 13-15, 15-5, 15-10
Sat, Oct 15 / 7 pm
High Point
Cassell Coliseum
L, 1-3
14-16, 15-2, 10-15, 10-15
Sat, Oct 15 / 7 pm
King
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
15-3, 15-7, 15-9
Tue, Oct 18 / 7 pm
at James Madison
Harrisonburg, Va.
L, 1-3
12-15, 12-15, 15-3, 9-15
Fri, Oct 21 / 7 pm
at South Carolina
Columbia, S.C.
L, 0-3
6-15, 7-15, 10-15
Sat, Oct 22 / 7 pm
at Charleston Southern
Charleston, S.C.
L, 1-3
13-15, 9-15, 15-8, 10-15
Tue, Oct 25 / 7 pm
Virginia
Cassell Coliseum
L, 2-3
15-11, 15-12, 5-15, 5-15, 9-15
Sat, Oct 29 / 7 pm
at Memphis
Memphis, Tenn.
L, 0-3
5-15, 8-15, 5-15
Sun, Oct 30 / 7 pm
at Arkansas State
Jonesboro, Ark.
L, 2-3
10-15, 2-15, 16-14, 15-12, 16-18
Fri, Nov 4 / 7 pm
Cincinnati
Cassell Coliseum
L, 0-3
7-15, 5-15, 1-15
Sat, Nov 5 / 7 pm
Louisville
Cassell Coliseum
L, 1-3
15-8, 10-15, 6-15, 12-15
U.Va. Invitational
Fri, Nov 11 / 7 pm
vs. Georgetown
Charlottesville, Va.
L, 1-3
9-15, 8-15, 15-11, 10-15
Sat, Nov 12 / 7 pm
vs. Wright State
Charlottesville, Va.
L, 0-3
5-15, 4-15, 13-15
Metro Conference Tournament
Fri, Nov 18 / 7 pm
vs. South Carolina
Cincinnati, Ohio
L, 0-3
9-15, 2-15, 1-15
  • Overall: 11-21
  • Conference: 0-0
  • Home: 5-5
  • Away: 3-7
  • Neutral: 3-9
  • Head Coach: John Pierce

Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
All Times Eastern
All Rankings from the AP Poll