Fair 48° :: Feels Like: 44°
Today's Live Events
  • Softball - 5 PM
    Farmville, Va.
    Virginia Tech
    Longwood

    vs.
  • Baseball - 5:30 PM
    English Field
    Campbell
    Virginia Tech

    vs.
StubHub Logo StubHub: Buy and sell Virginia Tech Hokie Tickets
1989 Schedule & Results

Select A Season

DateVT RankOpponentResultTVLocation
Virginia Early Bird Tournament
Fri., Sep 1, 1989vs. MichiganL, 0-3
5-15, 5-15, 13-15
Charlottesville, Va.
Sat., Sep 2, 1989vs. AuburnL, 2-3
15-10, 13-15, 15-12, 6-15, 2-15
Charlottesville, Va.
Sat., Sep 2, 1989vs. West VirginiaW, 3-1
15-3, 13-15, 15-10, 15-11
Charlottesville, Va.
Tue., Sep 5, 1989LibertyW, 3-1
10-15, 15-10, 15-9, 15-13
Cassell Coliseum
Coastal Carolina Invitational
Fri., Sep 8, 1989vs. DavidsonW, 3-0
15-3, 15-4, 15-8
Conway, S.C.
Fri., Sep 8, 1989vs. UNCGW, 3-0
15-5, 15-6, 15-3
Conway, S.C.
Sat., Sep 9, 1989vs. AugustaW, 3-0
15-3, 15-1, 15-3
Conway, S.C.
Sat., Sep 9, 1989vs. VCUW, 3-1
15-1, 11-15, 15-3, 15-11
Conway, S.C.
Sat., Sep 9, 1989vs. College of CharlestonW, 3-0
15-9, 15-7, 15-1
Conway, S.C.
Mon., Sep 11, 1989at RadfordW, 3-0
15-3, 15-13, 15-6
Radford, Va.
Wed., Sep 13, 1989UC IrvineL, 0-3
3-15, 6-15, 7-15
Cassell Coliseum
Virginia Tech Invitational
Fri., Sep 15, 1989UNC AshevilleW, 3-0
15-6, 15-4, 15-8
Cassell Coliseum
Sat., Sep 16, 1989HamptonW, 3-0
15-2, 15-0, 15-7
Cassell Coliseum
Sat., Sep 16, 1989VCUW, 3-0
15-4, 15-3, 15-4
Cassell Coliseum
Tue., Sep 19, 1989at James MadisonL, 1-3
15-10, 5-15, 14-16, 7-15
Harrisonburg, Va.
U.Va. State Classic
Fri., Sep 22, 1989vs. James MadisonW, 3-1
12-15, 15-3, 15-5, 15-8
Charlottesville, Va.
Sat., Sep 23, 1989vs. William & MaryL, 0-3
7-15, 3-15, 10-15
Charlottesville, Va.
Sat., Sep 23, 1989vs. George MasonW, 3-1
15-13, 15-5, 13-15, 15-10
Charlottesville, Va.
Tue., Sep 26, 1989RadfordW, 3-1
15-1, 13-15, 15-5, 15-9
Cassell Coliseum
Fri., Sep 29, 1989at CincinnatiL, 2-3
15-10, 10-15, 15-13, 4-15, 3-15
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sat., Sep 30, 1989at LouisvilleL, 1-3
6-15, 5-15, 15-9, 7-15
Louisville, Ky.
Tue., Oct 3, 1989Appalachian StateW, 3-0
15-4, 15-4, 15-5
Cassell Coliseum
Fri., Oct 6, 1989MemphisL, 1-3
15-10, 6-15, 8-15, 8-15
Cassell Coliseum
Tue., Oct 10, 1989James MadisonW, 3-0
15-12, 15-9, 15-10
Cassell Coliseum
Fri., Oct 13, 1989Southern MissW, 3-1
15-10, 10-15, 15-4, 15-9
Cassell Coliseum
Sat., Oct 14, 1989TulaneL, 2-3
13-15, 13-15, 15-13, 16-14, 11-15
Cassell Coliseum
Sat., Oct 14, 1989AkronL, 0-3
4-15, 3-15, 11-15
Cassell Coliseum
Mon., Oct 16, 1989at East Tennessee StateW, 3-0
15-13, 15-11, 15-7
Johnson City, Tenn.
Virginia Tech Classic
Fri., Oct 20, 1989MarshallW, 3-0
15-10, 17-15, 15-12
Cassell Coliseum
Sat., Oct 21, 1989Charleston SouthernW, 3-0
15-10, 15-12, 15-10
Cassell Coliseum
Sat., Oct 21, 1989MarshallW, 3-0
15-5, 15-2, 15-3
Cassell Coliseum
Tue., Oct 24, 1989at LibertyW, 3-1
15-7, 15-5, 9-15, 15-8
Lynchburg, Va.
Sat., Oct 28, 1989South CarolinaL, 0-3
18-20, 8-15, 5-15
Cassell Coliseum
Sun., Oct 29, 1989Coastal CarolinaW, 3-0
15-6, 15-5, 15-6
Cassell Coliseum
Tue., Oct 31, 1989VirginiaL, 1-3
9-15, 15-10, 7-15, 14-16
Cassell Coliseum
Sat., Nov 4, 1989at Florida StateL, 0-3
4-15, 9-15, 5-15
Tallahassee, Fla.
Tue., Nov 7, 1989CharlotteW, 3-0
15-11, 15-6, 15-10
Cassell Coliseum
U.Va. Classic
Fri., Nov 10, 1989at VirginiaL, 0-3
10-15, 8-15, 7-15
Charlottesville, Va.
Metro Conference Tournament
Fri., Nov 17, 1989vs. MemphisL, 1-3
6-15, 6-15, 15-7, 6-15
Tallahassee, Fla.
Overall: 24-15   Conference: 0-0
Home: 13-6   Away: 3-5   Neutral: 8-4
Head Coach: John Pierce

Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
All Times Eastern
All Rankings from the AP Poll
© 2014, hokiesports.com