StubHub Logo StubHub: Buy and sell Virginia Tech Hokie Tickets
    1997 Schedule & Results

    Select A Season

    DateVT RankOpponentResultTVLocation
    Nike Fall Invitational
    Fri., Aug 29, 1997at North CarolinaL, 0-3
    4-15, 8-15, 7-15
    Chapel Hill, N.C.
    Sat., Aug 30, 1997vs. ConnecticutL, 1-3
    15-11, 9-15, 15-17, 12-15
    Chapel Hill, N.C.
    Sat., Aug 30, 1997vs. Southern IllinoisW, 3-0
    15-8, 15-5, 15-8
    Chapel Hill, N.C.
    Wildcat Classic
    Fri., Sep 5, 1997vs. #2 FloridaL, 0-3
    5-15, 8-15, 8-15
    Evanston, Ill.
    Sat., Sep 6, 1997at NorthwesternL, 0-3
    10-15, 3-15, 3-15
    Evanston, Ill.
    Sat., Sep 6, 1997vs. KansasL, 2-3
    7-15, 1-15, 15-11, 15-6, 8-15
    Evanston, Ill.
    Tue., Sep 9, 1997RadfordW, 3-0
    19-9, 15-10, 15-7
    Cassell Coliseum
    Hi-IQ Classic
    Sat., Sep 13, 1997vs. Wake ForestW, 3-0
    15-4, 15-9, 15-9
    Williamsburg, Va.
    Sat., Sep 13, 1997at William & MaryW, 3-0
    15-5, 15-11, 15-5
    Williamsburg, Va.
    Tue., Sep 16, 1997James MadisonW, 3-0
    15-7, 15-8, 15-13
    Cassell Coliseum
    Fri., Sep 19, 1997at George Washington *L, 2-3
    7-15, 15-5, 15-4, 13-15, 8-15
    Washington, D.C.
    Sat., Sep 20, 1997at Fordham *W, 3-0
    15-7, 16-14, 15-9
    Bronx, N.Y.
    Fri., Sep 26, 1997Xavier *W, 3-1
    5-14, 15-10, 15-11, 15-8
    Cassell Coliseum
    Sat., Sep 27, 1997Dayton *L, 0-3
    11-15, 12-15, 9-15
    Cassell Coliseum
    Fri., Oct 3, 1997at Massachusetts *W, 3-1
    15-12, 15-2, 12-15, 15-6
    Amherst, Mass.
    Sat., Oct 4, 1997at Rhode Island *L, 0-3
    3-15, 8-15, 13-15
    Kingston, R.I.
    Fri., Oct 10, 1997Temple *L, 2-3
    7-15, 15-1, 11-15, 15-13, 12-15
    Cassell Coliseum
    Sat., Oct 11, 1997La Salle *W, 3-0
    15-4, 15-9, 15-3
    Cassell Coliseum
    Fri., Oct 17, 1997Duquesne *L, 1-3
    9-15, 6-15, 15-11, 10-15
    Cassell Coliseum
    Sat., Oct 18, 1997St. Bonaventure *W, 3-0
    15-12, 15-5, 16-14
    Cassell Coliseum
    Fri., Oct 24, 1997Fordham *W, 3-0
    15-10, 15-9, 15-13
    Cassell Coliseum
    Sat., Oct 25, 1997George Washington *W, 3-1
    15-7, 15-10, 12-15, 15-10
    Cassell Coliseum
    Tue., Oct 28, 1997at VirginiaL, 0-3
    11-15, 15-17, 6-15
    Charlottesville, Va.
    Fri., Oct 31, 1997at Dayton *L, 1-3
    13-15, 15-6, 4-15, 12-15
    Dayton, Ohio
    Sat., Nov 1, 1997at Xavier *L, 2-3
    15-6, 8-15, 14-16, 15-10, 11-15
    Cincinnati, Ohio
    Fri., Nov 7, 1997Rhode Island *L, 0-3
    14-16, 6-15, 7-15
    Cassell Coliseum
    Sat., Nov 8, 1997Massachusetts *W, 3-2
    15-13, 13-15, 15-9, 11-15, 15-5
    Cassell Coliseum
    Fri., Nov 14, 1997at La Salle *W, 3-0
    15-8, 15-10, 15-6
    Philadelphia, Pa.
    Sat., Nov 15, 1997at Temple *L, 0-3
    17-19, 8-15, 7-15
    Philadelphia, Pa.
    Fri., Nov 21, 1997at St. Bonaventure *W, 3-0
    15-8, 15-4, 15-9
    Olean, N.Y.
    Sat., Nov 22, 1997at Duquesne *W, 3-2
    15-11, 12-15, 15-8, 13-15, 17-15
    Pittsburgh, Pa.
    Atlantic 10 Tournament
    Fri., Nov 28, 1997vs. TempleL, 0-3
    7-15, 11-15, 14-16
    Dayton, Ohio
    Overall: 16-16   Conference: 11-9
    Home: 8-4   Away: 6-8   Neutral: 2-4
    Head Coach: Stephanie Hawbecker

    Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
    Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
    All Times Eastern
    All Rankings from the AP Poll
    Today's Live Events
    • Men's Basketball - 7 PM
      Cancun, Mexico
      Virginia Tech
      Miami University

      vs.
      Listen on HokiesXtra | Watch on CBSSN
    © 2014, hokiesports.com