2002 Schedule & Results

Select A Season


Wake Forest Tournament
Fri, Aug 30 / 7 pm
vs. Ohio
Wake Forest, N.C.
L, 0-3
19-30, 31-29, 24-30, 23-30
Sat, Aug 31 / 7 pm
vs. Auburn
Wake Forest, N.C.
W, 3-0
30-16, 30-24, 30-21
Sat, Aug 31 / 7 pm
at Wake Forest
Wake Forest, N.C.
L, 2-3
19-30, 30-27, 16-30, 30-27, 7-15
Radisson Invitational
Fri, Sep 6 / 7 pm
vs. Oakland
Akron, Ohio
W, 3-0
30-19, 30-17, 30-26
Sat, Sep 7 / 7 pm
vs. Robert Morris
Akron, Ohio
W, 3-0
30-27, 30-14, 30-17
Sat, Sep 7 / 7 pm
at Akron
Akron, Ohio
L, 1-3
22-30, 30-27, 26-30, 18-30
Tue, Sep 10 / 7 pm
Virginia
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
30-22, 30-18, 30-28
Hokie Classic
Fri, Sep 13 / 7 pm
Charlotte
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-2
30-23, 20-30, 27-30, 30-24, 15-9
Sat, Sep 14 / 7 pm
Appalachian State
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
30-27, 31-29, 30-24
Sat, Sep 14 / 7 pm
Georgia
Cassell Coliseum
L, 1-3
30-21, 23-30, 23-30, 27-30
Tue, Sep 17 / 7 pm
Tennessee
Cassell Coliseum
L, 0-3
23-30, 28-30, 26-30
Clemson Tournament
Fri, Sep 20 / 7 pm
at Clemson
Clemson, S.C.
L, 0-3
19-30, 17-30, 26-30
Sat, Sep 21 / 7 pm
vs. TCU
Clemson, S.C.
W, 3-1
27-30, 30-26, 30-22, 30-22
Sat, Sep 21 / 7 pm
vs. Coastal Carolina
Clemson, S.C.
L, 2-3
19-30, 26-30, 30-23, 30-27, 12-15
Sat, Sep 28 / 7 pm
at Providence *
Providence, R.I.
W, 3-0
30-18, 30-17, 30-28
Sun, Sep 29 / 7 pm
at Boston College *
Boston, Mass.
W, 3-2
30-15, 23-30, 25-30, 30-28, 15-13
Sat, Oct 5 / 7 pm
at Georgetown *
Washington, D.C.
L, 1-3
31-29, 30-32, 27-30, 25-30
Sun, Oct 6 / 7 pm
at Villanova *
Villanova, Pa.
W, 3-1
30-19, 30-22, 25-30, 30-21
Fri, Oct 11 / 7 pm
Seton Hall *
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
30-20, 30-23, 30-25
Sun, Oct 13 / 7 pm
Rutgers *
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-2
30-32, 30-26, 30-21, 31-29, 15-12
Wed, Oct 16 / 7 pm
Liberty
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
30-28, 30-17, 30-26
Tue, Oct 22 / 7 pm
at Radford
Radford, Va.
W, 3-2
23-30, 27-30, 30-16, 30-26, 15-12
Sat, Oct 26 / 7 pm
Miami *
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
30-28, 30-24, 30-25
Tue, Oct 29 / 7 pm
James Madison
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-2
30-26, 30-16, 25-30, 21-30, 15-13
Fri, Nov 1 / 7 pm
Connecticut *
Cassell Coliseum
L, 0-3
26-30, 25-30, 21-30
Sun, Nov 3 / 7 pm
St. John's *
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
30-27, 30-20, 30-28
Sat, Nov 9 / 7 pm
at West Virginia *
Morgantown, W.Va.
W, 3-1
30-27, 24-30, 33-31, 30-25
Sun, Nov 10 / 7 pm
at Pittsburgh *
Pittsburgh, Pa.
L, 2-3
30-27, 30-28, 33-35, 27-30, 9-15
Fri, Nov 15 / 7 pm
Syracuse *
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
30-15, 30-18, 30-24
Sun, Nov 17 / 7 pm
Notre Dame *
Cassell Coliseum
W, 3-0
30-27, 37-35, 30-27
BIG EAST Tournament
Sun, Nov 24 / 7 pm
vs. Miami
Pittsburgh, Pa.
L, 2-3
24-30, 23-30, 30-22, 30-23, 12-15
  • Overall: 20-11
  • Conference: 10-3
  • Home: 11-3
  • Away: 5-5
  • Neutral: 4-3
  • Head Coach: Greg Smith

Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
All Times Eastern
All Rankings from the AP Poll