1978-1979 Schedule & Results

Select A Season

Overall

9-15

Non-Conference

9-15

Conference

0-0

Home

7-8

Away

2-7

Neutral

0-0

Tue, Nov 28
at Marshall
Huntington, W.Va.
L, 67-70
Wed, Nov 29
at Charleston
Charleston, W.Va.
L, 69-82
Wed, Dec 6
at Bridgewater
Bridgewater, Va.
W, 70-58
Sat, Dec 9
Wake Forest
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 65-75
Fri, Jan 12
Norfolk State
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 83-62
Sat, Jan 13
Charlotte
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 65-67
Wed, Jan 17
Virginia
Cassell Coliseum
L, 58-64
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 83-78
Tue, Jan 23
Virginia State
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 67-69
Fri, Jan 26
at George Washington
Washington, D.C.
L, 65-76
Sat, Jan 27
at Virginia Union
Richmond, Va.
L, 59-73
Tue, Jan 30
James Madison
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 57-49
Virginia Tech Invitational
Thu, Feb 1
Lenoir-Rhyne
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 73-87
Fri, Feb 2
American
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 72-73
Thu, Feb 8
at Old Dominion
Norfolk, Va.
L, 47-91
Fri, Feb 9
at Georgetown
Washington, D.C.
L, 57-62
Wed, Feb 14
Radford
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 60-66
Thu, Feb 15
Longwood
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 81-55
Wed, Feb 21
West Virginia
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 73-61
Fri, Feb 23
at William & Mary
Williamsburg, Va.
W, 64-59
Sat, Feb 24
at VCU
Richmond, Va.
L, 56-69
Virginia State Tournament
Thu, Mar 1
James Madison
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 64-66
Fri, Mar 2
VCU
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 75-54
Sat, Mar 3
Norfolk State
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 70-53
  • Head Coach: Carol Alfano
  • Season Stats: View

Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
All Times Eastern
All Rankings from the AP Poll