April 23, 2010
    Five Hokies named all-state by VaSID
    Stephens named unanimous Rookie of the Year

    BLACKSBURG - Five Virginia Tech wrestlers were named all-state by the Virginia Sports Information Directors, as released Friday morning by the organization. Two Hokies were named first team while three earned second-team nods.

    Making the first team were 141-pounder Chris Diaz and 149-pounder Brian Stephens. Diaz earned All-America honors by winning four matches in the consolation rounds en route to an eight-place finish. Stephens won an ACC title and qualified for the NCAA Championships in a year he was supposed to redshirt. He didn’t begin officially competing until January, yet still managed to earn the ACC Freshman of the Year honor and followed that up with a unanimous state Rookie of the Year honor.

    Jarrod Garnett (125 pounds), Jesse Dong (157 pounds) and Tommy Spellman (184 pounds) each earned second-team honors. Garnett and Dong were ACC champions who made the NCAA Championships and Spellman was an ACC runner-up who also advanced to the Big Dance.

    Below are the full teams:

    2010 VaSID All-State Wrestling Team

    VaSID All-State First Team

    125: James Nicholson, Old Dominion
    133: Marcus Chevres, Apprentice School
    141: Chris Diaz, Virginia Tech
    149: Brian Stephens, Virginia Tech
    157: Peter Rose, Southern Virginia
    165: Chris Brown, Old Dominion
    174: Chris Henrich, Virginia
    184: Mike Salopek, Virginia
    197: Brent Jones, Virginia
    285: Josh Wine, VMI

    VaSID All-State Second Team
    125: Jarrod Garnett, Virginia Tech
    133: Matt Snyder, Virginia
    141: Ty Holley, Apprentice School
    149: Frankie Gayeski, Liberty
    157: Jesse Dong, Virginia Tech
    165: Chad Porter, Liberty
    174: Mendbagana Tovuujav, George Mason
    184: Tommy Spellman, Virginia Tech
    197: Jesse Strawn, Old Dominion
    285: Jack Danilkowicz, Virginia

    Wrestler of the Year: Chris Henrich, Virginia

    Rookie of the Year: Brian Stephens, Virginia Tech (Unanimous decision)

    Coach of the Year: Steve Garland, Virginia

    For updates on Virginia Tech wrestling, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Wrestling).

    HokieSports Shop
    Today's Live Events
    © 2016, hokiesports.com