February 24, 2012
Tech wrestlers head to Richmond for NCO
Eleven Hokies to compete for titles

BLACKSBURG - Eleven Virginia Tech wrestlers are scheduled to head to Richmond for the 2012 National Collegiate Open, to be held Sunday at the Arthur Ashe Center.

The National Collegiate Open Wrestling Championship is a collegiate wrestling event that serves as a post-season championship for NCAA Division-I athletes that are not wrestling in their school’s national qualifying tournament.

The inaugural National Collegiate Open was held in 2009, at Clarion University, with 179 athletes participating.

Below are the athletes competing from the Hokies:

125: Matt Peters
133: Jarrod Garnett (unattached)
133: Jordan O'Donnell (unattached)
149: Lex Ozias (unattached)
157: Matt Stephens
157: Chad Strube
165: Issah Meade
174: Austin Gabel (unattached)
197: Darren Hankins
285: Dan Garwood
285: Bobby Lavelle (unattached)

For updates on Virginia Tech wrestling, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Wrestling).

HokieSports Shop