March 13, 2013
Brackets announced for NCAA Wrestling Championships
Four Hokies grab national seeds; all 10 qualify
NCAA Brackets Download in PDF Format

BLACKSBURG ( - The brackets and seeds, along with the list of competitors, were released Wednesday evening for next week’s NCAA Wrestling Championships, to be held March 21-23 at Des Moines’ Wells Fargo Arena. Jarrod Garnett, Nick Brascetta, Jesse Dong and Pete Yates grabbed national seeds while Derrick Borlie was awarded one of the wildcard bids at 197 pounds.

In all, Tech will send a school-record 10 competitors to the event and is one of just five teams to qualify all 10 wrestling, joining national powers Minnesota, Missouri, Oklahoma State and Penn State.

Garnett grabbed the No. 5 seed at 125 pounds, Brascetta is the No. 8 seed at 149 pounds, Dong is seeded seventh at 157 pounds while Yates is the No. 3 seed at 165 pounds.

Below are the initial matchups for all 10 competitors, barring no changes between now and next week.

125: #5 seed Jarrod Garnett
First Round: vs. Dominic Parisi (App St)
Second match: vs. winner/loser of #12 Tyler Cox (Wyoming)/Nick Soto (Chatt)

133: Erik Spjut
First Round: vs. #6 seed Nathan McCormick (Missouri)
Second match: vs. winner/loser of #11 George DiCamillo (VA)/Dane Harlow (BU)

141: Zach Neibert
First Round: vs. #11 seed Michael Nevinger (Cornell)
Second match: vs. winner/loser of #6 Undrakhbayar Khishignyam (CIT)/Anthony Salupo (Lehigh)

149: #8 seed Nick Brascetta
First Round: vs. Brandon Richardson (Wyoming)
Second match: vs. winner/loser of #9 Jake Suefloehn (Nebraska)/Ronnie Garbinsky (Pitt)

157: #7 seed Jesse Dong
First Round: vs. Luke Smith (Central Michigan)
Second match: vs. winner/loser of #10 R.J. Pena (Oregon St)/Josh Demas (Ohio St)

165: #3 seed Pete Yates
First Round: vs. Nicholas Visicaro (Rutgers)
Second match: vs. winner/loser of Mark Martin (Ohio St)/Michael Moreno (Iowa St)

174: Austin Gabel
Pigtail: vs. Lee Helbig (Wyoming)
Second match: vs. #7 seed Jordan Blanton (Illinois) [if wins; consolations if loses]

184: Nick Vetterlein
First Round: vs. #5 seed Kevin Steinhaus (Minnesota)
Second Match: vs. winner/loser of #12 Ethan Lofthouse (Iowa)/[Stephen Doty (VA)/Boaz Beard (Iowa St)]

197: Derrick Borlie
First Round: vs. #3 seed Matt Wilps (Pitt)
Second Match: vs. winner/loser of Bryce Barnes (Army)/Richard Perry (Bloomsburg)

285: David Marone
First Round: vs. #7 seed Connor Medbery (Wisconsin)
Second Match: vs. winner/loser of #10 seed Jarrod Trice (C Mich)/Daniel Miller (Navy)

Be sure to check back next week for a full preview and once again when action begins for Twitter updates, stories and more from Des Moines.

ESPN’s family of networks will broadcast every round. You can find a complete list of where and when here.

For updates on Virginia Tech wrestling, follow the Hokies on Twitter (@VT_Wrestling).

HokieSports Shop