Seven Hokies land on VaSID Wrestling All-State Team

FERRUM, Va. – Seven Virginia Tech wrestlers earned spots on the 2017 VaSID All-State Team while head coach Tony Robie and Kevin Dresser shared Coach of the Year laurels, the organization announced late last week.

Senior Joey Dance (125), redshirt sophomore Solomon Chishko (149), redshirt senior Sal Mastriani (157), redshirt junior Zach Epperly (174), redshirt sophomore Zack Zavatsky (184), redshirt junior Jared Haught (197) and redshirt senior Ty Walz (285) all landed on the first team. Virginia had a pair of first team picks in Jack Mueller (125) and DiCamillo (141), while Washington and Lee University (Zach Bylykbashi, 133) and Old Dominion University (Seldon Wright, 165) had one each.

Of the seven Tech grapplers, five earned All-American honors at the NCAA Championships in St. Louis and six won ACC titles. Dance, Chishko, Haught and Walz were the only Hokies to accomplish both in 2017.

Dresser and Robie were ACC Co-Coaches of the Year, after leading the Hokies to ACC dual meet and tournament titles. Virginia Tech posted its fifth consecutive top 10 finish at the NCAA Tournament, posted an 18-1 regular season dual meet record, including a 5-0 mark in ACC duals. The Hokies finished the regular season ranked fourth in the nation.

VaSID names 27 all-state teams in 15 sports each year, as well as an Academic All-State squad and an all-sports champion in both the University and College Divisions. Membership to VaSID is open to all media relations professionals working at a University or conference in the state of Virginia.

Major Award Winners
Wrestler of the Year: George DiCamillo, Virginia
Coach of the Year: Tony Robie & Kevin Dresser, Virginia Tech
Rookie of the Year: Jack Mueller, Virginia

First Team
125 - Jack Mueller, Virginia
Joey Dance, Virginia Tech
133 - Zach Bylykbashi, Washington & Lee
141 - George DiCamillo, Virginia
149 - Solomon Chishko, Virginia Tech
157 - Sal Mastriani, Virginia Tech
165 - Seldon Wright, Old Dominion
174 - Zach Epperly, Virginia Tech
184 - Zack Zavatsky, Virginia Tech
197 - Jared Haught, Virginia Tech
285 - Ty Walz, Virginia Tech

Second Team
125 - Zach Beckner, Ferrum
133 - Alex Madrigal, Old Dominion
141 - Kevin Budock, Old Dominion
149 - Sahid Kargbo, George Mason
157 - Logan Meister, Ferrum
165 - Ray Bethea, Virginia
Chad Simmons, Apprentice
174 - Blake Rosenbaum, Ferrum
184 - Jack Dechow, Old Dominion
197 - Kevin Beazley, Old Dominion
285 - Tate Dulany, Ferrum

For updates on Virginia Tech wrestling, follow the Hokies on Twitter

HokieSports Shop