2007 All-ACC Academic Women's Soccer Team Announced
    Virginia Tech lands three players
    February 7, 2008

    GREENSBORO, N.C. - The tradition of excellence continues in Atlantic Coast Conference women's soccer as the 2007 All-ACC Academic Team features a star-power contingent that includes an NSCAA Scholar Athlete of the Year, 10 all-conference selections, five NSCAA and/or Soccer Buzz All-Americans, four NSCAA Scholar All-Americans, two CoSIDA Academic All-Americans, a Soccer America Freshman of the Year, an ACC Defensive Player of the Year and an ACC Freshman of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John D. Swofford. All 11 schools in the league competing in women's soccer are represented on the team.

    To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

    NCAA Women's Soccer College Cup runner-up Florida State and ACC champion North Carolina each featured six academic selections to lead all schools. Duke and Miami followed with five apiece, while Clemson notched four picks and Boston College, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest each earned three. Both Maryland and Virginia collected a pair and NC State rounded out the 40-member squad with one nod.

    Returning to the academic team this year are 21 repeat honorees with 14 from 2006. Seven others who have been recognized every year since the inception of the academic award in 2005-06 include Duke's Christie McDonald, Florida State's Katrin Schmidt, North Carolina's Averbuch, NC State's Tami Krzeszewski, Virginia's Becky Sauerbrunn, and Virginia Tech's Heather Hallberg and Ashley Kinser.

    The 2007 All-ACC Academic Women's Soccer team is as follows:

    2007 All-ACC Academic Women's Soccer Team

    Name Class School Pos. Major
    Rebecca Allen Fr. Duke F Undeclared
    Yael Averbuch # Jr. North Carolina M Psychology
    Julie Bolt * Jr. Clemson M/F Psychology
    Sarah Buonomo Jr. Boston College GK Nursing
    Becky Edwards * So. Florida State D Marketing
    Whitney Engen * So. North Carolina F Undeclared
    Kristi Eveland * So. North Carolina D Business Administration
    Shannon Foley Grad. Virginia M/F Education - Elementary
    Heather Hallberg # Sr. Virginia Tech M Human Nutrition, Foods & Exercise
    Ashlyn Harris Fr. North Carolina GK Communication Studies
    Kelly Hathorn * Jr. Duke F Psychology
    Margaret Horne Sr. Wake Forest M Communication
    * Elizabeth Jobe * Sr. Clemson M/D Animal & Vet. Science
    Molly Johnson Jr. Clemson D Marketing
    Marissa Kazbour Fr. Florida State M Sport Management
    Ashley Kinser # Sr. Virginia Tech D Management
    Meghan Klingenberg Fr. North Carolina M Undeclared
    Tami Krzeszewski # Jr. NC State M Social Work
    Brittney Macdonald Fr. Miami D Biology
    Lauren McAdam * Sr. Miami GK Psychology
    Christie McDonald # Jr. Duke D English
    Shelley McDuff * Sr. Maryland M Kinesiology
    Kia McNeill * Sr. Boston College D Human Development
    Erin McNulty Fr. Florida State GK Management
    Gretchen Miller Fr. Duke D Undeclared
    Laurie Beth Puglisi * Jr. Virginia Tech F Marketing
    Lorraine Quinn Jr. Duke M Sociology
    Chelsea Regan Fr. Boston College M English
    Anna Rodenbough * Jr. North Carolina GK Biomedical Engineering
    Kelly Rozumalski Sr. Maryland F Marketing
    Allie Sadow So. Wake Forest F Undeclared
    Becky Sauerbrunn # Sr. Virginia D English Language & Literature
    Katrin Schmidt # Jr. Florida State D Social Science
    Lauren Singer Fr. Miami M/F Sport Administration
    Amy Smerdzinski * Jr. Wake Forest M Communication
    Brittney Steinbruch Fr. Miami M/F Sport Administration
    Sheuneen Ta * Sr. Miami M Art
    Sanna Talonen Fr. Florida State F Social Science
    Kirsten van de Ven * Sr. Florida State M Psychology
    Nuria Zufia Sr. Clemson F Economics
    * - Denotes repeat honoree from 2006 team
    # - Denotes three-time All-ACC Academic selection

    Today's Live Events
    • Women's Golf - All Day
      Simpsonville, KY
      University of Louisville
      Cardinal Cup
    © 2016, hokiesports.com