February 9, 2016
Three Hokies named to ACC All-Academic Team
Coburn, Meier and Tiernan earn repeat accolades

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Three members of the Virginia Tech women’s soccer team were named to the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference All-Academic Team, as announced by conference Commissioner John Swofford Tuesday. Seniors Jordan Coburn and Ashley Meier and junior Murielle Tiernan were honored by the conference for their performance in the classroom and on the field this year.

Meier, a senior psychology major from Strongsville, Ohio, earns her fourth ACC All-Academic Team selection with this year’s award. The midfielder is the Hokies’ second-leading all-time scorer and earlier this off-season was named to the 2015 NSCAA All-Southeast Region second team and was a first team All-ACC selection. Meier was a 2015 CoSIDA Academic All-District 3 selection.

Coburn, a senior public relations major from Ellicott City, Maryland, earned her third-consecutive ACC All-Academic Team selection this year. The four-year starter was a standout on the Hokie defense. Earlier this season, Coburn was also named to the NSCAA All-Southeast Region third team and the All-ACC third team. Coburn was a 2015 CoSIDA Academic All-District 3 selection.

Tiernan, a junior from Ashburn, Virginia, earns her third consecutive selection to the team. The Hokies’ all-time leader in points and goals, Tiernan was named a 2015 NSCAA All-American third team, along with being a first team All-Southeast Region selection and first team All-ACC selection.

The Hokies finished the 2015 season with a record of 15-4-2 and 6-3-1 in the ACC. Tech finished the season ranked No. 18 in the NSCAA national poll. The Hokies made the NCAA Tournament for the eighth consecutive season, advancing to the second round before falling to Ohio State.

Eleven schools are represented on this year’s All-ACC Academic Team, which includes five student-athletes that earned NSCAA All-America honors in 2015, including Tiernan. Seven members of the ACC All-Academic Team were named to either 2015 Capital One Academic All-America Team or the NSCAA Scholar All-America Team.

Virginia senior forward Makenzy Doniak was named the 2015 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Soccer Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Along with Doniak, Meier also claimed her fourth ACC All-Academic Team honor, while Boston College’s Haley Dowd, Duke’s Christina Gibbons, Florida State’s Megan Campbell, Notre Dame’s Cari Roccaro, and Hokie teammates Tiernan and Coburn collected the third of their careers. The ACC All-Academic Team also includes 26 players that were named to the first, second or third All-ACC Team and seven members of the ACC All-Freshman Team.

Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team area 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.

The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.

2015 All-ACC Academic Women’s Soccer Team

(# of *s denote years named to the All-ACC Academic Women’s Soccer Team)

*** Haley Dowd, Jr., Boston College (Communication)

** McKenzie Meehan, GS, Boston College (MBA)

Catrina Atanda, Jr., Clemson (Communication Studies)

** Emily Byorth, Jr., Clemson (Health Science)

Abby Jones, Jr., Clemson (Health Science)

Samantha Staab, Fr., Clemson (Pre-Business)

Claire Wagner, Jr., Clemson (Psychology)

Jenna Weston, Jr, Clemson (Management)

*** Christina Gibbons, Jr., Duke (Visual and Media)

** Ashton Miller, So., Duke (Undeclared)

EJ Proctor, So., Duke (Undeclared)

Rebecca Quinn, Jr., Duke (Biology)

Taylor Racioppi, Fr., Duke (Undeclared)

Kayla McCoy, Fr., Duke (Undeclared)

Lizzy Raben, Jr., Duke (Literature)

*** Megan Campbell, Sr., Florida State (Interdisciplinary Social Science)

Kirsten Crowley, Jr., Florida State (Business –Marketing)

Michaela Hahn, Sr., Florida State (Sport Management)

** Emma Koivisto, So., Florida State (Business)

Natalia Kuikka, Fr., Florida State (Criminology)

** Carson Pickett, Sr., Florida State (Sport Management)

** Isabella Schmid, Sr., Florida State (Masters – Social Work)

Kaycie Tillman, Fr., Florida State (Business)

** Cheyna Williams, Sr., Florida State (Editing, Writing, Media)

Taylor Bucklin, Jr., Louisville (Sport Administration)

Gracie Lachowecki, Jr, Miami (Nursing)

** Joanna Boyles, Jr., North Carolina (Business Administration)

Paige Nielsen, Sr., North Carolina (Business Administration)

Alexa Newfield, Sr., North Carolina (Communication Studies)

Dorian Bailey, Fr., North Carolina (Undeclared)

*** Cari Roccaro, Sr., Notre Dame (Sociology)

** Katie Naughton, Sr., Notre Dame (Anthropology)

Anna Marie Gilbertson, Sr., Notre Dame (Neuroscience)

**** Makenzy Doniak, GS, Virginia (Speech Pathology and Audiology) – Scholar-Athlete of the Year

** Brittany Ratcliffe, Sr., Virginia (Inter-media Studies)

Betsy Brandon, Fr., Virginia (Arts & Sciences)

Kristen McNabb, Sr., Virginia (Sociology)

Morgan Stearns, Jr., Virginia (Inter-media Studies)

**** Ashley Meier, Sr., Virginia Tech (Human Development)

*** Murielle Tiernan, Jr., Virginia Tech (Resid., Enviro. Des.)

*** Jordan Coburn, Sr., Virginia Tech (Public Relations)

Maddie Huster, So., Wake Forest (Undeclared)

Katie Dry, Sr., Wake Forest (Psychology)

For updates on Virginia Tech women's soccer, follow the Hokies on Twitter

HokieSports Shop