1997 Schedule & Results

Select A Season

Overall

9-9-1

Non-Conference

5-3

Conference

4-6-1

Home

6-4

Away

3-5-1

Neutral

0-0

Fri, Aug 29
at UNCG
Greensboro, N.C.
L, 0-1
Sun, Aug 31
VCU
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 2-0
Wed, Sep 3
at Radford
Radford, Va.
L, 0-1
Sun, Sep 7
East Carolina
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 4-1
Wed, Sep 10
Richmond
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 2-1
Sun, Sep 14
at American
Washington, D.C.
W, 1-0
Fri, Sep 26
at Old Dominion
Norfolk, Va.
W, 2-0
Sun, Sep 28
at George Washington *
Washington, D.C.
L, 1-2
Fri, Oct 3
at Fordham *
Bronx, N.Y.
L, 0-1
Sun, Oct 5
at La Salle *
Philadelphia, Pa.
L, 0-2
Fri, Oct 10
Massachusetts *
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 0-3
Sun, Oct 12
Rhode Island *
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 3-1
Fri, Oct 17
at St. Bonaventure *
Olean, N.Y.
W, 3-2
Sun, Oct 19
at Duquesne *
Pittsburgh, Pa.
T, 0-0
Wed, Oct 22
James Madison
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 1-3
Fri, Oct 24
Dayton *
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 1-3
Sun, Oct 26
Xavier *
Blacksburg, Va.
L, 0-2
Fri, Oct 31
St. Joseph's *
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 2-1
Sun, Nov 2
Temple *
Blacksburg, Va.
W, 5-0
  • Head Coach: Sam Okpodu

Notes: * - Atlantic Coast Conference games
Dates, Times & TV Subject To Change
All Times Eastern
All Rankings from the AP Poll