ACC announces All-conference Women's Tennis Team
    Beermann named to elite group
    April 19, 2007

    GREENSBORO, N.C. - All 12 schools placed at least one student-athlete on the 2007 Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Tennis All-Conference Team, as announced by the league office Thursday. Georgia Tech and Miami led all schools with three all-conference selections, followed by Florida State and North Carolina with two apiece. Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Maryland, NC State, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest rounded out the remaining 18-member unit with one pick each.

    For the second straight year, Miami's Audra Cohen was named ACC Player of the Year. The sophomore becomes the first Hurricane player to receive the league's top award consecutively. Cohen recorded another perfect 11-0 mark in league play for the second year in a row and also went 10-1 in doubles action this year. She has been instrumental in helping the Hurricanes post a 17-5 record on the season, including an 8-3 ledger in ACC play. The Plantation, Fla., native has been the nation's top-ranked player all season.

    Ani Mijacika etched a spot in the ACC and school record books, as she became the first Tiger tabbed ACC Freshman of the Year. In her rookie campaign, she went undefeated in singles with an 11-0 mark in ACC play and is one-half of the team's top doubles tandem. A native of Makarska, Croatia, Mijacika helped lead the Tigers (19-3, 10-1 ACC) to a share of the team's eighth all-time ACC regular-season title.

    Voted by his peers for ACC Coach of the Year honors was Bryan Shelton of Georgia Tech. Shelton and his Yellow Jackets shared the spotlight with Clemson as regular-season co-champions. Georgia Tech went 20-4 on the year and 10-1 in league action, and collected the league's regular-season hardware for the third year in a row. The honor is the second in the last three years for Shelton, and the third of his career.

    2007 ALL-ACC TEAM

    Lana Krasnopolsky - Boston College
    Ani Mijacika - Clemson
    Melissa Mang - Duke
    Lauren Macfarlene - Florida State
    Nicola Slater - Florida State
    Amanda Craddock - Georgia Tech
    Kristi Miller - Georgia Tech
    Alison Silverio - Georgia Tech
    Marianne Baker - Maryland
    Audrey Banada - Miami
    Audra Cohen - Miami
    Laura Vallverdu - Miami
    Jenna Long - North Carolina
    Katrina Tsang - North Carolina
    Daria Petrovic - NC State
    Jennifer Stevens - Virginia
    Inga Beermann - Virginia Tech
    Alex Hirsch - Wake Forest

    Player of the Year
    Audra Cohen, Miami

    Freshman of the Year
    Ani Mijacika, Clemson

    Coach of the Year
    Bryan Shelton, Georgia Tech
    © 2016,